Pumpkin season approaches

The semester is going by faster than I thought. Two weekends ago, I went exploring Peace Valley again with Kevin. This time instead of taking our usual hiking trail by the nature center, we went to the lake area and walked through a small valley. He was trying to find fossils by chipping the rocks with a knife. Apparently they are supposed to be more common than you’d think. He didn’t find any fossils, though he did find something close that looked like a leaf fossil with a cool pattern.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then the following week, my family – parents, sister, aunt, and gram – came to visit my apartment. We started with dessert: ice cream at the market. The salted caramel was delicious. Kevin was finishing up his shift and joined us for dinner at Uno’s. Obviously I had pizza with garlic. I came home super stuffed with leftovers for later.

screen-shot-2016-09-19-at-2-37-12-pm

I started cat enrichment, which I do 2 days a week. The little kittens are so adorable and they are only nine months old. They were just recently added into the lab. The last batch of cats were adopted into homes (people who already worked with them before, like lab techs or instructors or previous cat enrichers) after about 4 or 5 years of being in the lab. Those were the cats I worked with my sophomore year. Now we have a fresh litter and there are 8 of them this time instead of 6!

My classes are going well. Though it’s still very early in the semester. My first exam is this Friday. So far my labs haven’t been too bad. They are still challenging… but a healthy amount of challenge. So far. They have also been pretty interesting. In repro we toured the school’s sheep farm and in clin-pathology we’ve been working with blood (not to sound morbid… but blood is my favorite!).

I’m so glad that the weather finally cooling down. Being stuck in a humid classroom is horrible. I’m really looking forward to graduating. Instead of buying an expensive yearbook, I decided I would make my own personalized yearbook instead. I started a project on Shutterfly and put collages together of the best photos I’ve taken during my years at Del Val. It brought all the memories right back. It’s crazy how every semester was so different, but they each had their own pros and cons, I can’t say that any semester was better or worse than the others. It’s also interesting to think about all the people that have come in and out of my life, who stayed and who drifted. When I was putting it together this weekend and thinking about all my memories, it felt so happy and so sad at the same time. Sad that the memories are gone and how people and life circumstances are always changing. But happy that I got to have all of these amazing experiences that I will keep with me for the rest of my life. It’s bittersweet but it’s something important.

Leave a Reply

